Skip to main content
Tulane Home Tulane Home

Inline CSS for Tulane News Articles

Owl Club Awards Hit Home

May 13, 2010 11:00 AM
New Wave staff

Tulane medical students recognized outstanding faculty members at the annual Owl Club banquet on May 7, but they also presented two staff members with "mom" awards for providing support to first- and second-year medical students.

Owl Club

L. Gabriel Navar, right, chair of the physiology department, and Norman Kreisman, department vice chair, hold the Best Department trophy they received from the Owl Club. (Photo from Annette Park)

"We would like to recognize two women who, while they are not teaching us in the classroom directly, provide invaluable support to us everyday," said Annette Park, one of the medical students who organized the event, held two days before Mother's Day in the auditorium at 1555 Poydras St.

Cynthia Hayes, director of medical alumni relations, received an award for being "mom" to the first-year medical students. Hayes was recognized for her smiling face, open door to students and listening ear, as well as providing breakfast treat bags before big exams.

Doreen Barrett, senior program coordinator in interdisciplinary programs, received an award for being "mom" to the second-year medical students and for keeping the second year running smoothly "with her incredible patience and organizational skills."

Jean Sanders, a cashier in the medical school cafeteria, won the Spirit of Tulane Award.

Among the many awards the students handed out, the Department of Physiology won the Outstanding Department Award. The Leon Weisberg Excellence in Clinical Teaching Award went to Dr. Lily Yang, assistant professor of clinical obstetrics and gynecology. The W. Clifford Newman Student Advocacy Award was presented to Annie J. Daniel, director of the Office of Medical Education.

The Owl Club is the Tulane School of Medicine's student organization for academic excellence. Founded in 1921, the club is a service organization committed to fostering improved relationships between the medical student body and the faculty to achieve continual improvement of medical education.

The Owl Club's annual awards reward courses, coordinators and faculty members for their excellence in teaching, showing appreciation for those who maintain a higher standard and a true commitment to excellence.