Tulane Home Tulane Home

Inline CSS for Tulane News Articles

President Fitts surprises staff members with Excellence Awards

December 17, 2019 4:00 PM
Tulane Today staff today@tulane.edu

Earlier this week President Mike Fitts and Riptide delivered the 2019 President’s Staff Excellence Awards to 10 university staff employees and one department that best represent high achievement in their contributions to the university. Individual recipients receive a one-time cash award of $1,000. This year’s team recipient, Mail Services, received $5,000. All recipients will be recognized during the unified recognition event this spring.

2019 President's Excellence Awards

Jan Pereira of Career Services reacts to the keepsake oversized check.

Robert Morton of Technology Initiatives is congratulated by President Fitts.
Desiree Packard of Strategic Summer Programs receives congratulations from President Fitts and Riptide.
The President's Departmental/Team Excellence Award went to Mail Services, whose members include, in alphabetical order: Alonso Andara III, Charles Applewhite, Lee Babin, Andrea Chatman, Shawn Daggs, Luis Ducos, Laurie Farber, David Ferrier, Tyrone Finney, Christopher Godail, Regan LeCesne, Oliver Malbrough, Belinda Malley, Joseph Maloney, Eric Thomas, Henry Trotter and Michael Washington.
Jack Leslie of the Department of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology listens as President Fitts announces his award.
Zylkia Lozano (left) of the School of Medicine reacts to the good news as her colleagues look on.
Kathy Leblanc of the School of Public Health and Tropical Medicine gets a pleasant surprise.
Nadia Golden of the Tulane National Primate Research Center is all smiles. She is pictured with the center's director, Jay Rappaport.
Tara Fleetwood of Facilities Management and Campus Planning accepts a check amid applause.
Brian Johnson (left) of Student Affairs accepts the commemorative check from President Fitts.
Tami Jenniskens of Sponsored Projects Administration gives Riptide a hug during the presentation. (Photos by Sally Asher except Nadia Golden, which was provided by the Tulane National Primate Research Center.)