Tulane President in <i>TIME</i>'s Top 10

TIME magazine has named Tulane President Scott Cowen among the nation's 10 Best College Presidents in this week's issue, which hits newsstands today (Nov. 13).

In ranking Tulane President Scott Cowen among the 10 best U.S. college presidents, TIME magazine cited his work on behalf of Tulane and New Orleans. (Photo by Paula Burch-Celentano)

Citing Cowen as "both a deft academic leader and a committed civic booster" who has given Tulane "a sense of renewed vigor," the magazine chose him No. 4 on a list of "Nine Presidents to Watch." Cowen's diligent work on behalf of Tulane and New Orleans after the devastation of Hurricane Katrina is cited in the article.

On being named one of the top 10 out of some 3,000 university presidents nationwide, Cowen says, "I feel very honored and humbled," adding that he believed the nationwide media attention that focused on Tulane's recovery from Katrina helped raise awareness of his efforts.

"I don't know if I deserve to be in the top 10 or not, but if I do, it is because I have a great team, and they work very hard to make me look good," Cowen said. "When you have a great team anything is possible." Cowen appreciated the fact that the magazine noted Tulane's contribution to the community as well as its rising academic profile.

On the pride he feels about his adopted hometown, he says, "I am in love with New Orleans. Especially after Katrina, I developed a passion for and identity with the city that has become a big part of my life and who I am."

For the ranking, TIME looked for presidents who are deeply engaged with their communities. E. Gordon Gee, president of Ohio State University, received the No. 1 ranking. Other presidents in the top 10 are from New York University, the University of Michigan–Ann Arbor, Arizona State University–Tempe, Middlebury College, the University of Maryland–Baltimore County, Miami Dade College, the University of Texas–Brownsville and the University of California–Oakland.

In September, Cowen was named one of four university leaders nationally to receive the 2009 Carnegie Corporation Academic Leadership Award.