Tulane Home Tulane Home

Two Tulane Students Receive Prestigious Truman Scholarships

April 07, 2008 4:15 AM


Kathryn Hobgood

Timothy Kramer Schmidt and Sarah Elizabeth Ray of Tulane University have been named 2008 Truman Scholars. The announcement was made last week by Madeleine K. Albright, president of the Harry S. Truman Scholarship Foundation. Kramer and Ray are among only 65 students from colleges and universities across the United States to receive this prestigious scholarship award this year. Truman winners are chosen by 17 independent selection panels on the basis of leadership potential, intellectual ability and likelihood of making a difference.

The Truman Scholarship provides up to $30,000 for graduate study. Scholars also receive priority admission and supplemental financial aid at some premier graduate institutions, leadership training, career and graduate school counseling, and special internship opportunities within the federal government. Recipients must be US citizens, have outstanding leadership potential and communication skills, be in the top quarter of their class and be committed to careers in government or the not-for-profit sector.

Timothy Schmidt, from Covington, La., is a junior political science major with a concentration in American politics and policy. He mentors at-risk youth through Big Brothers/Big Sisters of America. He also guts and rebuilds hurricane-damaged homes through Tulane SAFER (Students Acting for Equitable Recovery). He is interested in the effort to strengthen Louisiana"s flood protection system and the revitalization of Louisiana"s coastal wetlands.

Sarah Ray, from Memphis, Tenn., is a junior double majoring in political science and social policy. A member of the Honor Board, Chi Omega Fraternity, chair of Students Organized Against Racism (SOAR), and president of a peer education group called Peer Health Advocates, Sarah"s career goal is to make government programs more accountable and efficient, especially in the area of public housing and poverty.

The Truman Scholarship Foundation was established by Congress in 1975 as the federal memorial to our 33rd President. The Foundation awards scholarships for college students to attend graduate school in preparation for careers in government or elsewhere in public service. The activities of the Foundation are supported by a special trust fund in the US Treasury. There have been 2,610 Truman Scholars elected since the first awards were made in 1977. For more information visit http://www.truman.gov/