Degrees in December

April 29, 2008 5:00 AM Kiley Brown kbbrown@tulane.edu

The School of Social Work, School of Public Health and Tropical Medicine and the A.B. Freeman School of Business are holding December graduation ceremonies today (Dec. 14) and Tuesday (Dec. 18). Approximately 243 Tulane graduates will participate.

Today (Dec. 14), the <u>School of Social</u>
<u>Work</u> awards 47 master of social work
degrees and three PhDs. The ceremony
takes place in Dixon Hall at 7 p.m.

The guest speaker, selected by the graduating students, will be Julius Harrington, who participated in Tulane's "Courageous Conversations" project that examined Hurricane Katrina evacuation experiences and return stories of African-American families.

A professor of social work at the New Mexico Highlands University, Harrington is on the board of directors of the Porter-Cason Institute for the Development of Family Practice in the Tulane School of

In December, 243 Tulane graduates are receiving diplomas from the university. (Photo by Paula Burch-Celantano)

Social Work, whose mission is to develop and enhance learning about service and advocacy for children, families and communities.

The <u>School of Public Health and Tropical Medicine</u> anticipates 95 students will receive masters' and PhD degrees. The convocation ceremony is in Dixon Hall at 2 p.m. Joel Lamstein, co-founder and president of John Snow Inc., will be the guest speaker. John Snow Inc. is an international public health consulting firm.

At the <u>A.B. Freeman School of Business</u> ceremony, which will be held on Tuesday (Dec. 18) at 6 p.m. in McAlister Auditorium, diplomas will be given in four different degree programs: bachelor of science in management, master of accounting, master of business administration and PhD. Charles Atwood, vice chairman of Harrah's Entertainment, will be recognized as an outstanding alumnus. He also received his MBA from Tulane in 1973.

The business school also is recognizing other students with awards of special accomplishment. The Tulane Association of Business Alumni Community Service Award will be given to Christopher Derison, Fayth Ecker, Krystn Hammond and Stacie Joseph. To be eligible for this award, students must complete 25 hours of volunteer service, doing pro bono work with disadvantaged and nonprofit businesses in the area.