Professors to be named Weiss Fellows at Commencement 2017

The recipients of the 2017 Suzanne and Stephen Weiss Presidential Fellowships are Elisabeth McMahon, associate professor in the Department of History and Africana Studies in the School of Liberal Arts; and Beth Wee, senior professor of practice in the Department of Psychology and associate dean for undergraduate studies in the School of Science and Engineering; director of the master’s and undergraduate neuroscience programs; and adjunct faculty in the Department of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology. Tulane University will award these fellowships at the Unified Commencement Ceremony. (Photos by Paula Burch-Celentano)

The commencement ceremony on Saturday, May 20, will be streamed live online. Follow Commencement 2017 on social media at #tulane17.

Elisabeth McMahon
Elisabeth McMahon challenges her students to think critically about global issues and to consider how a broad perspective of history can impact international development and affairs. The students who flock to her courses find them demanding. But McMahon is known for her compassion as well as her tough curriculum, mentoring students and even young alumni, and 
supervising student research and honors theses. “From the first, we knew her course would never be boring,” writes one student. “We were always challenged, and with every challenge we learned something new.”
Beth Wee
Beth Wee, who co-founded the undergraduate major in neuroscience, offers support for undergraduate research, whether helping students choose classes or pursue outside experiences. “Beth approaches her teaching with a rare combination of knowledge, enthusiasm, and rigor,” her colleague says. Her students agree. “She gives students experiences that really make up an education,” one says. Wee has also served as adviser to several student societies including the Tulane University Neuroscience Association, Science and Engineering Honor Society, and many others.